folk awards

Songs of Separation nominated for two Folk Awards

  • February 9, 2017

Songs of Separation

Congratulations to Songs of Separation, who it’s just been announced, have been nominated for two BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, Best Album and Best Traditional Track for Echo Mocks The Corncrake. In the best album category, they’re up againt Jarlath Henderson for Hearts Broken, Heads Turned, Jim Moray for Upcetera, Martin Green for Flit and Shirley Collins for Lodestar whilst the best tradional track category sees them facing off against Jarlath Henderson for Courting Is a Pleasure, Daoirí Farrell for Van Diemen’s Land and Julie Murphy for Willie Taylor.

The collaborative recording project which reflects, through song, the issue of ‘separation’ in its many forms, features ten of England and Scotland’s most celebrated female contemporary folk artists, Eliza Carthy, Karine Polwart, Rowan Rheingans, Mary Macmaster, Hannah Read, Kate Young, Jenn Butterworth, Hazel Askew, Hannah James and Jenny Hill (who conceived the project).


BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards – The Winners

  • February 21, 2014

A massive congratulations to all of the winners from Wednesday nights BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards (see below for the full list), especially our very own Lisa Knapp who took home the award for Best Original Song for ‘Two Ravens’. The song is taken from Lisa’s latest album Hidden Seam which has been described as “A masterful creation” by the Observer in their 5 star review, the album is available now from Propermusic, and iTunes.


BBC Radio 2 Folk Award Nominations

  • November 21, 2013

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2014
The nominations for the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards were announced last night and Navigator are proud that many of our artists past and present have been nominated. Lisa Knapp has received three nominations in total which include Folk Singer of the Year, Best Album and Best Original Song. Josienne Clarke and Ben Walker have received two nominations for Best Duo and the Horizon Award whilst Lucy Ward also receives a nomination in the Folk Singer of the Year category. Other notable inclusions are Bella Hardy for Folk Singer of the Year and Sam Sweeney (of Bellowhead) whose nominated for Musician of the Year. Next year will be the 15th anniversary of the event which will take place at the Royal Albert Hall on Wednesday 19th February 2014, tickets are available now, with performers including Bellowhead, Clannad, Martin and Eliza Carthy, Suzanne Vega and Fisherman’s Friends confirmed to appear.

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2013 – The Winners

  • January 31, 2013

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2013 - WinnersNavigator Records are delighted that both Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman and Bellowhead won awards at last nights BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards which took place in Glasgow. Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman won Best Duo while Bellowhead won the award for Best Album which was voted for by the public. A massive congratulations to all of the winners and nominees.

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards Nominations 2013

  • November 22, 2012

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2013We’re delighted to announce that several Navigator Records artists have been nominated for the 2013 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards which will take place at The Glasgow Royal Concert Hall on 30 January 2013 as part of the prestigious Celtic Connections festival. Once again the awards are open to the public and tickets can be bought from the Celtic Connections box office. The nominees were announced last night on Mike Harding’s BBC Radio 2 show which you can listen to now on the iPlayer.