Bellowhead – Hedonism (10th Anniversary Ltd Edition red/black marble vinyl)

  • September 25, 2020

Bellowhead - Hedonism (Anniversary LP)

10 years on from the release of Hedonism (Oct 2010), we’re excited to be releasing this special limited edition, black and red marble effect vinyl which includes new liner notes from each member of the band.

Hedonism, the third studio album by Bellowhead, became the highest selling independently released folk album of all time. To date, the album has sold over 78,000 copies and gone silver, making this John Leckie-produced classic a must-have for any contemporary folk fan.

The eleven piece band were an unmissable fixture on the folk circuit from 2004 until their split in 2016, noted for their frenetic live performances, which drew from a variety of sources including dance tunes, traditional folk and sea shanties. Lead single, ‘New York Girls,’ was a radio favourite, enamoured by everyone from Chris Evans to Simon Mayo to Mark Radcliffe and was even performed twice on Jools Holland’s ‘Later’ show.


Bellowhead Live Reaches Number 24 in the Album Charts

  • April 18, 2016

Bellowhead Live: The Farewell Tour

Congratulations to Bellowhead who’ve reached number 24 in the UK Album Chart this week with their latest, and sadly last album, Bellowhead Live: The Farewell Tour.

The Sunday Times posed the question “Who can fill this band’s shoes?” in their review of the new album, adding “they’re bowing out in style… at their crowd-pleasing best”, whilst NE:MM said “Truly wonderful stuff… It’s a shame that this fine band are calling it a day but this terrific set will serve as an excellent reminder of what a great live draw they were”.

New Release: Bellowhead Live: The Farewell Tour

  • February 8, 2016

Bellowhead Live: The Farewell TourDeluxe triple disc (2CD + DVD) of previously unreleased live audio and film from the first of 2 farewell tours by 11 piece British folk band, Bellowhead, recorded in November 2015. 52 tracks in total!

Formed in 2004, the band scarcely imagined that one day they'd be headlining major UK and international festivals and selling out tours of major concert halls, or that they'd sell in excess of 250,000 albums, including the highest selling independently released traditional album of all time ('Hedonism,' Navigator Records, 2010) and the highest charting independently-released UK folk album of all time too, ('Broadside,' Navigator Records, 2012). Bellowhead are the proud recipients of two silver discs and have won a total of eight BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. The band's last studio album 'Revival' (2014) entered the UK Album Charts at no.12 and led to three BBC Radio 2 play-listed singles, as well as appearances on mainstream TV.

Early in 2015, lead singer Jon Boden decided to step down from the band and the rest of Bellowhead felt they didn't want to continue without him. "The shows always finish on a high, and so should we." (Bellowhead). The two audio CDs includes 29 tracks recorded during the November 2015 tour whilst the DVD features the band's full concert from Leicester's De Montford Hall, 19th November 2015.

Bellowhead Live: The Farewell Tour is out now and available from:

Propermusic Amazon iTunes

Track of the Week: Bellowhead – Christmas Bells

  • December 21, 2015

Bellowhead - Christmas Bells / Jingle BellsReleased back at the end of 2013, this is a proper old-fashioned sort of Christmas single, but with the customary Bellowhead twist.

Jon Boden says: “Christmas Bells is based on the mummers play Christmas : his Pageant Play, or Mysterie of “St. George” written down by a Mr. H Slight and published in 1842. It seems perfect for Bellowhead, linking Father Christmas with the tale of St. George & the Dragon. Mummers plays were found all over England up until the Second World War and many Christmas mumming traditions carry on to this day. Jingle Bells is rather better known as a song, though what is not so well known is that it was initially written in the 1850s for American Thanksgiving day celebrations. It’s ours now though!”

Christmas Bells / Jingle Bells, the double A-side single is available now on iTunes, AmazonMP3, Google Play, Spotify and all good digital services.

Bellowhead on Simon Mayo’s Drivetime

  • December 10, 2015

A slimmed down version of Bellowhead, featuring Jon Boden, John Spiers, Sam Sweeney, Pete Flood, Ed Neuhauser and Benji Kirkpatrick appeared on yesterdays Simon Mayo Drivetime Show on BBC Radio 2. The band performed three live tracks, New York Girls, Jingle Bells and Roll The Woodpile Down and spoke to Mayo about their plans for the future.

You can listen to the full show on the BBC iPlayer now, Bellowhead appear at around 1 hour and 10 minutes into the show.

Bellowhead’s Christmas Bells/Jingle Bells digital single is available now on iTunes, AmazonMP3, Spotify and other digital services.

Pandemonium – The Essential Bellowhead, an album of some of the best loved tracks from the band’s five studio albums, is out now and available from Propermusic, Amazon, iTunes and Spotify.