Georgia Ruth Shortlisted for the Welsh Music Prize

  • September 20, 2017

Georgia Ruth - Fossil ScaleCongratulations to Georgia Ruth who has been shortlisted for this years Welsh Music Prize for her latest album Fossil Scale. Other nominees include The Gentle Good with Ruins, Kelly Lee Owens wth her self-titled debut, Gruff Rhys for Set Fire To The Stars. All of the nominees will be available on the Welsh Music Prize site from 8pm tonight.

Fossil Scale is available now, buy the album from Propermusic, Amazon, iTunes and all good record shops and stream now on Spotify.

The Welsh Music Prize was created in 2011 by Radio 1 DJ Huw Stephens and music promoter John Rostron. The prize was originally launched to coincide with Sŵn festival – one of the UKs best independent music festivals – sharing the same values to celebrate the finest music made in Wales or by Welsh people around the world. Warmly received by the Welsh and international music industry, its now grown into its own, taking place each Autumn in Cardiff.

With a commitment to diversity and fine production, Welsh Music Prize will continue to champion the best new music from Wales.

Watch: Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys – The Making of Pretty Peggy

  • August 14, 2017

Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys - Pretty PeggySam Kelly & The Lost Boys have today released a new video documenting the making of their upcoming album Pretty Peggy. It’s a fascinating behind the scenes look at the work that goes into making an album and also shows the fun the boys obviously had whilst recording.

Trawling old songs and tunes for this innovative melting pot album, Kelly has found some gems to refashion kicking off with the rousing whaling shanty Greenland Whale which is matched at the other end of the 12-track album by a driving, full-blooded take on the trad English song The Keeper.

Pretty Peggy is released on the 6th October and available to pre-order now from (where you can get a signed copy), Amazon, iTunes and all good record shops.

New Release: Blue Rose Code – The Water of Leith

  • July 27, 2017

Blue Rose Code - The Water of LeithBlue Rose Code, aka acclaimed singer-songwriter Ross Wilson, releases The Water Of Leith, his first album for Navigator Records on October 27.

A nomad both geographically and musically, Ross writes from the heart eschewing any specific genre and the twelve new songs on The Water Of Leith, addressing themes of love, loss, travel, home, accepting the past and embracing the future, are painted with colours of folk, jazz, soul and pop; an eclecticism that has become a hallmark of Blue Rose Code and has seen him compared to John Martyn, Van Morrison and Tom Waits.

Underlining the sense of movement and place in Ross’s work and The Water Of Leith is rooted in his return to his Scottish homeland. There, he reconnected with the stellar musicians who were to become an integral part of the new album’s sound: multi award-winning singer Julie Fowlis, celebrated Gaelic singer Kathleen MacInnes, BBC Folk Award Winner, Ross Ainslie, 2017’s Scottish Jazz Awards’ instrumentalist of the year Konrad Wiszniewski, leading violinist Seonaid Aitken and three of Scotland’s finest jazz musicians; John Lowrie, Colin Steele and James Lindsay, to name just some of the contributors. Grammy-winning American singer-songwriter Beth Nielsen Chapman features on the opening track. Ross co-produced the album with Angus Lyon.

The Water of Leith  is available now.
Blue Rose Code
Amazon iTunes Spotify

New Release: Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys – Pretty Peggy

  • July 5, 2017

Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys - Pretty PeggyIf you like your ‘folk’ edgy, turning traditional songs on their head, swerving into rock territory or nudging the mainstream, Sam Kelly’s your man. Just three years after releasing his first EP, Norfolk-born, Cornwall-based Kelly scooped the coveted 2016 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards “Horizon” title, which recognises the best emerging talent.

His debut CD The Lost Boys was released in 2015 to wide acclaim (his version of Wayfaring Stranger even being heard on Channel 4 soap opera Hollyoaks!)

For this compelling Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys follow-up album Pretty Peggy, released October 6, 2017, he is joined in the seven strong line-up by his regular touring and festival band – banjo genius Jamie Francis; Ciaran Algar on fiddle/tenor guitar; Evan Carson on percussion, Graham Coe (cello), Toby Shaer (woodwind) and Archie Churchill-Moss on melodeon.

The entire band share production duties with Ross-Rothero Bourge and Gareth Young.

Heidi Talbot and Friends live on The Quay Sessions

  • June 5, 2017

Heidi Talbot - Here We Go 1, 2, 3Heidi Talbot appeared on The Quays Sessions last week to perform songs from her latest album, Here We Go 1, 2, 3. Talbot performed alongside her husband and musical partner John McCusker as well as members of her band and friends.

You can listen to the show in full on the BBC iPlayer here, watch Heidi’s full performance here and get a taste of what to expect below.

Here We Go 1, 2, 3 is available now from Propermusic, Amazon, iTunes, Spotify and all good record stores.

Upcoming tour dates

No shows booked at the moment.