Songs of Separation win Best Album at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards

  • April 6, 2017

Songs of SeparationWe were delighted to see the Songs of Separation collective take home the BBC Radio 2 Folk Award for Best Album last night, winning against some stiff competition including Jarlath Henderson (Hearts Broken, Heads Turned), Jim Moray (Upcetera), Martin Green (Flit) and Shirley Collins (Lodestar). The group were also nominated in the Best Traditional Track category which was won Daoiri Farrell for his version of Van Diemen’s Land which he also performed on the night.

The Songs of Separation project, which reflects through song, the issue of ‘separation’ in its many forms, features ten of England and Scotland’s most celebrated female contemporary folk artists, Eliza Carthy, Karine Polwart, Rowan Rheingans, Mary Macmaster, Hannah Read, Kate Young, Jenn Butterworth, Hazel Askew, Hannah James and Jenny Hill (who conceived the project).

Recorded in the fairy-tale setting of the Isle of Eigg (in the Scottish Inner Hebrides) and set in the context of a post-referendum world, ‘Songs of Separation’ is not simply a beautiful collection of traditional and self-penned songs, but also aims to prompt new thinking about the issue of separation as it occurs in all our lives. The process of developing the music was documented and shared with audiences each day, through a range of videos.

The Songs of Separation album is available now on Propermusic, Amazon, iTunes, Spotify and from all good record stores.